Presidential disaster approved for 19 Iowa counties

Barack Obama
(AP Photo/Carolyn Kaster)

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) – President Barack Obama has approved a major disaster declaration for 19 Iowa counties because of storms and flooding in September and October.

That makes federal funding available to state and local government agencies and some nonprofit organizations.

The money will help perform emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding that occurred between Sept. 21 and Oct. 3.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Most of the counties are in northeast and north-central Iowa but Des Moines County is southeast Iowa also is included.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s